Making an Awesome and Meaningful Parting with your Students

This morning, I was just thinking what should I do for my students who will leave their school. I, as the teacher, wanted to make unforgettable moment for them. And, this also became a moment when I gave them the last motivation of what they should do in the future. Thanks God. It runs so hearth-touching and awesome.

Well, here I want to share how I plan that parting with my students.

First, I play this video.

9-year-old boy discussing the meaning of life.

Because I’m an English teacher who teaches EFL (English as foreign Country). I play the video in the purpose of giving my students listening practice. But, actually my intention is giving them the moral value of the video which can inspire them when they have left the school.

The best quotes that I can learn from the boy are:

“The meaning of your life is what you make, what you think, and what you want your life to be.”

From the quote, I can explain that you have to make, think, and want the best as you can. So you will find what is the meaning of your life is.

“Our life may be pre-destined, but you can change that.”

Yeah. Everything may be pre-destined, but the destiny is the result of what you do because no one can decide what will you do, except for you.

While viewing the video, most of my students were keeping silence staring at what the boy says. I hope it can give something to my students when they face the real world outside there.

After, I play the video. I give my student a best parting song. That is “The scientist”. Try to understand the lyrics and I correlate what the lyrics say to the condition as if that this is the last time I teach you here. Check it the lyric of the song.

THE SCIENTIST – Coldplay

Come up to meet you, tell you I’m sorry

You don’t know how lovely you are

I had to find you, tell you I need you

Tell you I set you apart

Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions

Oh, let’s go back to the start

Running in circles, coming up tails

Heads on a science apart

Reff

Nobody said it was easy

It’s such a shame for us to part

Nobody said it was easy

No one ever said it would be this hard

Oh, take me back to the start

~

I was just guessing at numbers and figures

Pulling the puzzles apart

Questions of science, science and progress

Do not speak as loud as my heart

But tell me you love me, come back and haunt me

Oh and I rush to the start

Running in circles, chasing our tails

Coming back as we are

Reff

Nobody said it was easy

Oh, it’s such a shame for us to part

Nobody said it was easy

No one ever said it would be so hard

I’m going back to the start

~

Oh ooh, ooh ooh ooh ooh

Ah ooh, ooh ooh ooh ooh

Oh ooh, ooh ooh ooh ooh

Oh ooh, ooh ooh ooh ooh

T_T…. Everybody was crying when we sing it together. And I say to my students as the followings:

Time is passing so fast. I want to say this is so hard to leave you right now.

I remember when once you came to my class, and you hadn’t known me.

Then I introduced myself and I knew you. But, fortunately,  it ended without I could realize.

I remember when you smiled, when you laughed, and when you cried.

Oh God. Take me back to the start… T_T

Friends, I only hope you can find better friends than I am. And I hope he can change my position and make you happy.

By playing and singing the song three times. We felt free and ready if they will leave me and their friends and go outside to the real world. That parting was so meaningful to me and my students. I will never that moment.

As the closing, I ask my students to keep silent for a while. Then, I ask them to pray and imagine what they want your life to be. And it is followed by my hope for them after they leave this lovely school….

My students…. You have colored my hearth… I will never forget our best moments… Good bye my kids… Right now you have grown up…. Go and take your dream!!!

Leave a Reply

